Like A Child

“And they were bringing children to him that he might touch them, and the disciples rebuked them.  But when Jesus saw it, he was indignant and said to them, “Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God.  Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.”  And he took them in his arms and blessed them, laying his hands on them.

Mark 10:13-16

What an incredible account sandwiched between Jesus’ provocative teaching on divorce and the rich young ruler and His triumphant entry.  Reading this passage this morning led me to meditate on a few questions:

1. Who am I bringing to Jesus? Apparently there was this idea that you should bring your kid to Jesus.  Now obviously, this wasn’t being done by the disciples (who was supposed to know Him well), and I am pretty sure it wasn’t the preachers’ kids (the “preachers” hated Him).  This was the common men and women.  They seemed to know Jesus better than those who should.  Do I value Jesus such that I bring others to him “that he might touch them”?

2. Who am I rebuking? It concerns me that the disciples of Christ rebuked those who wanted to be touched by Jesus.  Heartbreaking.  I am a disciple of Christ.  How am I “protecting” Him from touching others (not good)?  How do I get in the way of others touching Him with my words?  An even more scary question:  How does my life rebuke others who are trying to be touched by Jesus?  I don’t want to belittle God’s sovereignty by any means, but my life does testify to some kind of belief about Christ that others see…

3. How do I receive the Kingdom? The Kingdom of God is here.  It is also still coming.  There is this tension between the simplicity and complexity of the Kingdom.  What a struggle.  I love the depth of scripture and the mystery of the Gospel.  There is nothing wrong with devouring it to the fullest.  But, has theology become my God?  My idol?  Do I receive the Kingdom as a child?  Is my faith that simple, that strong?  My child receives me without condition, its pretty amazing.  He hasn’t been clued into my human condition…yet.  The smarter I get, the dumber I get.

May I have a robust theology surrounded by the childlike kind of faith that brings others to Jesus and does not rebuke them in coming to be touched by Him.

About Mark Sellers
Mark the Antiblogger lives with his wife Staci in Madison, Alabama. Apart from his crusade to destroy all things blog he and his wife are in over their heads with Summit Crossing Community Church, a cool Christian community of believers. They have two precious adopted children, Andrew (Guatemala) and Ava (USA), that fill their days with excitement and joy. You can also find Mark's blogs on www.summitcrossing.org, and follow him on Twitter @dmarksellers.

Leave a Reply

