Deeda

s1069683427_367685_2585874Ok, so I have decided after 2 years to come out of blog exile.  I have been reading some recent blogs from folks I know and don’t know and feel like I should add to the collective thought pool.  I learn so much more from life experience and from the experience of others.

Now, I fully acknowledge that I may be the only person who reads this, but then I guess it could be deemed healthy (or the opposite) self introspection.  Oh well, here goes.

I would like to start a petition for a word to be added to Webster’s list.  It is quite possibly the sweetest sound I have heard up to this point in my life.  It is one I am sure you have never heard of:

“Deeda” (emphasis on the last syllable)

It is the inverse of daddy and what Andrew has decided that I should be called.  Of course most of you know the battle we walked through to get him home.  Anytime I think of the pain, bitterness, and sadness that accompanied that journey, I recall deeda and I am reminded of providence.  Providence found only with the Father.

I know this post will sound pretty familiar to those written by hundreds of dads, but the last few months since we got home from Guatemala have been life-changing. Fatherhood has changed me, is changing me.  I cannot look at God the same.

He is my Father, my Deeda.  This is the God who looked upon His hurting people in Egypt, heard their cries, and rescued them.  This is so deeply intimate.  Later in Exodus, He calls us His treasured possession.  In Ephesians, we are His workmanship, His “poem”.  In Romans, we are His clay.  In Psalms, He is our seamster, sewing us together.

It gives me such great pleasure to love my son, to feed him, to gently rock him to sleep at night, to bathe him, to tickle him and hear his cackle, to dance and sing with him, to teach him and read him books, to giggle with him at his body sounds (sorry mom), to gaze at amazement at stuff in the world that used to be boring, to play with trains, to pray with him, and on and on.  Although it pains, me, I am committed to his discipline and pray for his soul daily.  I would die for him in an instant, give my lifeblood for his own.  He is my son and I am his deeda.

How much more does my deeda in heaven love me?  He is my deliverer, my provider, my constant, my protector, my Lord.

He is good and His will is perfect.  He gave His son for me while I was His bitter enemy.

I love you Jehovah Deeda

About Mark Sellers
Mark the Antiblogger lives with his wife Staci in Madison, Alabama. Apart from his crusade to destroy all things blog he and his wife are in over their heads with Summit Crossing Community Church, a cool Christian community of believers. They have two precious adopted children, Andrew (Guatemala) and Ava (USA), that fill their days with excitement and joy. You can also find Mark's blogs on www.summitcrossing.org, and follow him on Twitter @dmarksellers.

6 Responses to Deeda

  1. michael says:

    You’ve been read.

  2. Jennifer Jackson Nelson says:

    Awww, Mark, that was beautiful! We are so blessed to have the privilege of being parents!
    Jennifer

  3. Kelsey says:

    brought tears to my eyes…it has been such an amazing parallel and example to have watched you walk through such hard times and continue to love unconditionally as your son has opened up and fully accepted that love….thanks for the thoughts

  4. guateliving says:

    Nice post. Being a (good) father is the most difficult, and rewarding work in this life.

  5. Sherilyn Morgan says:

    That is such a precious story. I am so happy that you are a dad and have had the awesome opportunity to experience this relationship with your son. I did not know about the adoption. Thanks for publishing you blog.

  6. Shaun says:

    Awesome post Mark. Really opened my eyes to some things and I look forward to reading more. Thank you for this!

Leave a comment